#601 Measurement APIs

qualidafial Wed 20 May 2009

I work in the cabinet industry. In our code we make heavy use of size-centric API--I'm not sure if this would be generally useful but I figured I'd show you how it works. In Fan these would look like:

width := Dist.inch(30)
leftSpacing := Dist.inch(0.0625)
rightSpacing := Dist.inch(0.0625)
doorSpacing := Dist.inch(0.125)
doorCount := 2

doorWidth := (width - leftSpacing - rightSpacing -
    doorSpacing * (doorCount-1)) / doorCount
echo(doorWidth)       => "14 7/8\""
echo(doorWidth.val) => 14.875
echo(doorWidth.unit)  => DistUnit.inch

What I like in particular about this approach is how the method names make the code very intentional: Dist.mm is a measurement of distance expressed in millimeters; Dist.inch is a measurement of distance expressed in inches.

I've been thinking about how this could be modeled more generically into a Measure mixin:

mixin Unit
{
  Decimal ratio(This other)
}

mixin Measure
{
  Decimal val()
  Unit unit()
  This convert(Unit unit)

// Can't believe I remember these terms from elementary school..
  This plus(This addend)
  This minus(This subtrahend)
  This mult(Decimal multiplicand) 
  This div(Decimal divisor)
  // etc for other math functions..
}

Thus:

enum DistUnit
{
  mi, yd, ft, inch, km, m, cm, mm, nm

// ratio(DistUnit) omitted for brevity
}

class Dist : Measure
{
  new mi(Decimal val)
  new yd(Decimal val)
  new ft(Decimal val)
  new inch(Decimal val)
  new km(Decimal val)
  new m(Decimal val)
  new cm(Decimal val)
  new mm(Decimal val)
  new nm(Decimal val)
  new make(Decimal val, DistUnit unit)

DistUnit unit() // covary return type by concrete class
}

This same concept could be applied to other measurements, e.g:

enum MassUnit
{
  kg, g, mg
}

class Mass : Measure
{
  new kg(Decimal val)
  new g(Decimal val)
  new mg(Decimal val)
  new make(Decimal val, MassUnit unit)

MassUnit unit() // covary return type by concrete class
}