#2696 Lost type with it-block

dubek Sat 12 May 2018

I'm new to Fantom, so excuse me if this report is just a misunderstanding.

I found that using an it-block with map loses the type of the new returned collection (List or Map). For example:

fansh> a := [1,2,3]
[1, 2, 3]
fansh> a.typeof
sys::Int[]
fansh> b := a.map { it }
[1, 2, 3]
fansh> b.typeof
sys::Obj?[]
fansh> a == b
false

The same happens with Maps:

fansh> h := ["a": "b", "c": "d"]
[a:b, c:d]
fansh> h.typeof
[sys::Str:sys::Str]
fansh> h2 := h.map { it + "X" }
[a:bX, c:dX]
fansh> h2.typeof
[sys::Str:sys::Obj?]

Using a full closure (instead of the it-block) solves the issue:

fansh> [1,2,3].map { it }.typeof
sys::Obj?[]
fansh> [1,2,3].map |Int x -> Int| { return x }.typeof
sys::Int[]

Another thing is that the compiler happily allowed me to pass such a sys::Obj?[] variable to function which takes an Int[] parameter:

class Main
{
  static Void work(Int[] nums)
  {
    echo(nums.toCode)
    nums.each { echo(it) }
  }

static Void main()
  {
    a := [1,2,3]
    work(a)
    b := a.map { it * 10 }
    work(b)
  }
}

Running this gives:

sys::Int[1, 2, 3]
sys::Obj?[10, 20, 30]

Where I'd expect the nums argument to always be Int[] (or maybe a List of objects that inherit from Int), or the compiler should complain about type mismatch on work(b).

brian Sat 12 May 2018

Hi dubek, welcome to Fantom!

Typically with map you are creating a new list (or map) of a different type. The runtime will type the result based on your closure's return type:

fansh> [1, 2, 3].map |x->Str| { x.toStr }.typeof
sys::Str[]

Another thing is that the compiler happily allowed me to pass such a sys::Obj?[] variable to function which takes an Int[] parameter