#2485 Java Interop limitations?

didibus Sun 18 Oct 2015

Hi,

I'm very new to Fantom, I just recently discovered it and I am loving it's pragmatic approach and feature set while retaining a very conventional C-like syntax.

I was looking through the doc, and one thing I like is the easy interop with Java. It seems most java types can be used as if they were Fantom code. This is pretty nice compared to Scala or even Clojure.

But, there's currently 3 limitations. I was wondering if I could get more context into these.

1. Multi-dimensional arrays. This one seems to be the worst restriction right now. Though, it doesn't happen that often, I'm curious to know why this is the case? Does Fantom not support a multidimensional construct? Couldn't multidimensional arrays be mapped to any other indexable type?
  2. Subclassing more then one level deep. I'll rarely feel the need to do this, but, again, I'm curious as to why this is a limitation. Does Fantom subclassing works in a way that makes this impossible?
  3. Java overloaded method override. I understand Fantom does not support method overloading, couldn't Java overloads be transformed into default values methods in Fantom when they are a subset of the arguments? And maybe, simply renamed 2, 3, 4, etc. for cases where they are a different set?

Thank You, Looking forward to learn more about Fantom.

SlimerDude Mon 19 Oct 2015

Hi Didibus,

Thanks for posting! I don't do much Java FFI so I can't shed much light on your queries. Though I can say:

1. Fantom does support multidimensional lists, such as Int[][]. But a Fantom Int is a Java long, so mapping byte[][] from Java to Fantom is pretty tricky!
  2. Fantom supports multilevel sub-classing. The one-level limitation is only when sub-classing a Java class.
  3. The workaround for this, and indeed any other Java related limitation, is to write a small wrapper class in Java that does what you want, then use this wrapper class in Fantom.

Hope this helps!?